JVMS Minutes – Epping Forest October 5th

  1. Introduction of Guests:  
  2. Approval of July Meeting Minutes: Approved
    • Committee Reports
      1. Social / Charitable Outreach - Rebecca Williams
        1. Believe foundation Rodeo request for volunteer help Oct 18 (charity event) especially Need vets with some equine experience ...
        2. Terrarium social Dec 2 (come enjoy wine and make a terrarium) Purina sponsorship...
      2. Treasurer Report – Dr. Craig Price – Doing well. Provided Management Report
      3. Website / Social Media – Dr. Cindy Miller: Relief Vet Page is set up
      4. Membership Committee Dr. Miller
        1. New Members: Robert Rushing, Sheri Rowe, Bridgette Morton, Rachel Brown
      5. CE Committee – Dr. Mitch Crystal
        1. See CE Committee Report
      6. FVMA- Dr. Rick Sutliff
      7. Trust Fund – Dr. David Cromer
      8. Awards – Dr. Sutliff
      9. Ethic / Peer Review Dr. Sutliff
      10. ACPS – Dr. Erne – Nothing New
      11. JHS – Dr. Hill – Under Construction
  3. Old Business
    1. Gopal Passed Away July 9thand the JVMS donated $100 to the AVMF Fund in his name
  4. New Business
    1. 2018 Dinner Meeting Dates: 1/11/18; 4/12/18; 7/12/18; 10/4/18
    2. Items from Attendees
      1. Dr. Natalie Hashey – Interest in partnering with the Duval County Medical Society for Mental Health Counseling and suicide prevention and awareness within our community.
        1. A motion was made by Dr. Crystal to explore this further, second by Dr. Acree
  5. Election of Officers
    1. President Erin Cann
    2. President – Elect (up for grabs) – Dr. Katie Green was elected into the position
    3. Treasurer – Craig Price
    4. Secretary – Britany Timberlake
  6. Election of Board of Directors

    The Bylaws state:

    Article V Board of Directors

    Section 1 - The Board of Directors shall be elected annually at the annual meeting of the Society. It is recommended, but not mandatory, that the Board consist of the past four Presidents of the Society.

    Section 2 - The Board of Directors, hereafter called the Board, shall be the administrative body of the Society. It shall be charged with carrying out the provisions of the Articles of Incorporation.

    Section 3 - The newly elected president shall call, during the annual business meeting of the Society, a meeting of the Board to immediately follow the Society meeting. At this annual meeting of the Board it shall be the responsibility of its members to elect a chairman. The chairman of the Board shall preside at all meetings of the Board. His/her tenure of office is for one year and he/she may serve no more than three consecutive terms.

    Section 4 - The Board shall execute such other duties as the Society shall direct.

    Nomination for the Board was Dr. Erin Cann (President), Stan Hill (Past President), BritanyTimberlake (Secretary), Katie Green (President Elect), James Mosely (At Large), Brad MacKenzie (At Large)

  7. Passing of the Gavel to Dr. Erin Cann
  8. Adjourn